Over 12 NRM MPs express interest to stand for the position of Speaker

Atleast 13 National Resistance Movement (NRM) MPs have expressed interest to stand for the position of Speaker of parliament. The position fell vacant after the death of Speaker Jacob Oulanyah.

Oulanyah died at a hospital in Seattle in the United States of America, following an illness that kept him out of duty since the beginning of this year.

“Countrymen and Countrywomen, it is with a lot of sadness that I announce the death of the Rt. Hon. Jacob Oulanyah, the Speaker of Parliament,” tweeted President Museveni, sending waves of shock across the country.

The Constitution, in Article 82 provides for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament. Article 82 (2) says that the Speaker and Deputy Speaker shall be elected by members of Parliament from among their number.

(3) A person shall not be qualified to be elected a Speaker or Deputy Speaker if he or she is a Vice President or a Minister.

(4) Subject to article 81(4) of this Constitution, no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election to the office of Speaker at any time that office is vacant.

Yesterday, NRM launched the campaign that will culminate into the election of Party Flag bearer ahead of the election of the speaker. The election of the speaker is scheduled to take place on Friday 25th March 2022.

The NRM MPs include; West Budama South MP Jacob Oboth, the Deputy Speaker of Parliament Anita Among, the deputy Attorney General Jackson Kafuuzi, Minister of State for Sports Denis Hamson Obua, Minister of Health- Uganda Dr Jane Ruth Aceng, Dr Florence Akiiki Asiimwe, John Amos Okot and Wakabi Pius

Others are; Alex Brandon Felix Okot Ogong, Sarah Opendi , Atima-lee Jackson and Theodore Ssekikubo

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *