Parliament swears in 529 MPs

The parliament of Uganda has sworn in all the 529 MPs who were elected in the recently concluded 2021 general elections and representatives from special interest groups.

The swearing in ceremonies kicked off on Monday with Adjumani woman MP Ababiku Jesica to Butembe County MP David Livingstone Zijjan. The MPs took the oath of allegiance and oath of a Member of Parliament as provided for in the Constitution.

In the meantime, Members of Parliament are taking the Covid-19 test in the Parliamentary Gardens, a requirement ahead of the 1st Sitting of the 1st Meeting of the 1st Session of the 11th Parliament during which the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the new Parliament will be elected.

The sitting is scheduled for Monday 24th May 2021 at Kololo Ceremonial Grounds.

The race is between Rebecca Kadaga and her deputy Jacob Oulanyah. Others contesting for the office of the speaker of parliament include; Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Semujju Nganda and Rakai District Woman MP Juliet Kinyamatama.

Mps vying for the office of deputy speaker include; Gomba West MP Robina Rwakoojo, West Budama North MP Jacob Oboth-Oboth, Bukedea Woman MP Anita Among, Kampala Central MP Muhammad Nsereko, Ruhinda North MP Thomas Tayebwa, Theodore Ssekikubo, the Lwemiyaga County MP and State Minister for Finance David Bahati.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *