Thomas Tayebwa elected Deputy Speaker of Parliament

Ruhinda North County MP Thomas Bangirana Tayebwa has been elected the deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament. Tayebwa defeated Kioga County MP, Moses Okot P’Bitek. In land slide victory, Tayebwa 379 polled votes as Okot got 82 votes.

The position of the Deputy Speaker of parliament was declared vacant after the election of Bukedea Woman MP Anita Among as the Speaker of the 11th Parliament.

The position of the speaker fell vacant following the demise of the Speaker Jacob Oulanyah. Oulanyah died on 20th March 2022 in Seattle, USA where he was admitted in February this year. Oulanyah’s body is expected to be repatriated this week.

According to Article 82 (2) of the constitution of Uganda provides for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Article 82 (4) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda that refrains Parliament from conducting any other business other than the election of the Speaker at any time that office is vacant.

After the election and subsequent swear in,  Among  preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker as stipulated by Rule 6 (4) of the Rules of Procedure which also states that, ‘An election to the Office of Deputy Speaker shall be held at the first sitting of Parliament after that office becomes vacant.’

Okot was nominated by the Chief Opposition Whip, John Baptist Nambeshe and seconded by Aruu North, Santa Okot.

Tayebwa was nominated by Tororo Woman MP Sarah Achieng Opendi. He was seconded by Kitgum district Woman MP Lillian Aber.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *